Low Mill was built in Bainbridge, in the Yorkshire Dales, in the 1780’s as a corn mill. Following a fire in 1830 alterations were made to the building. The eastern end of the mill was added to creating more storage, the water wheel was enclosed and a new kiln was built. The height of the building was raised and the roof was replaced. It is believed a new, larger water wheel was also installed at this time.
After milling ceased, around 1907, the building was used as a dairy in the 1920’s and then as an army cook house and feeding station during World War II. In 1973 Low Mill was purchased in a semi-derelict state by Dr Christopher Cole who undertook a major refurbishment of the old building including restoring the wheel and mill machinery. Dr Cole also used the mill as a workshop and dolls house museum. Following his death, the mill remained empty for a number of years and the listed building fabric again deteriorated.
In 2010 Neil and Jane McNair purchased Low Mill with a view to restoring it to its former glories and turning it into a high-end bed and breakfast. Neil is a carpenter from north London who had extensive experience of renovating old properties. Neil has replaced all the water wheel wooden spokes and back boards and the wheel is now in full working order driving two millstones via a series of cogs and gears. Low Mill offers 3 guest rooms with the mills' workings creating unique features within the bedrooms.